Prepared To Be Wrong

"If you're not prepared to be wrong, you will never come up with anything original." -Ken Robinson

New Blogger Initiative

So I’ve been reading math teaching blogs for years, always looking for ways to improve my teaching.  I lurk but I don’t comment because I’m afraid I have nothing to contribute, I’m afraid I’ll be laughed at, I’m afraid I will sound dumb, I’m afraid they won’t get me.  I’m afraid, and I want to be perfect.  I’m that way with my teaching as well.

Then I saw Ken Robinson’s TED talk, and this line hit me hard, “If you’re not prepared to be wrong, you will never come up with anything original, and you’ll be afraid to be wrong”.  Afraid to be wrong, that was me.  After hearing that, I vowed to change the way I think about my teaching.  Heck, I’m changing the way I think about my life.  I value creativity in life and education, and this fear is holding me back.

Today I read Sam Shah’s post on the New Blogger Initiative and I’m up for the challenge.  It’s only four posts, right?  I can do that, and I’m not afraid.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “New Blogger Initiative

  1. I love LOVE LOVE the change in attitude! I think you have to own where you are at in teaching (I personally know I’m just okay… and if you saw me in the classroom you would DEF agree… very traditional) and then say “I want to suck less!” It’s what we want our kids to do… take risks, make mistakes, and work on getting better. And we as teachers try to create an environment where they can do that. And that’s kinda the environment I think we have going here in the mathtwitterblogosphere. You of course are putting yourself out there, but it’s so worth it. And I will bet that you’ll soon learn that NO ONE out there will laugh at you or think you’re dumb. It’s all very supportive and unicorns and glitter. Which is all to say: I’m trying to allay your fears!

    “You’ll be swell! You’ll be great!…” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s62MrU8mHx4

    Welcome!

  2. Pingback: Overwhelmed! « Prepared To Be Wrong

Leave a Reply

